The Cristóbal Gabarrón Museum is housed in the iconic Mula building known as the Casa Pintada. One of the main families of Mula, the Blaya, built the Casa Pintada around 1770, being originally a palatial home. Built in an architectural style characteristic of the Spanish Levante, the house-palace has a square floor plan with three floors, a central tower and a wine cellar. The building is of a singular beauty, especially highlighting its facade with sgraffito of popular scenes of the eighteenth century and family coats of arms. Its baroque façade is made of red carved marble, with a lavish hunting scene depicted between the windows.
On 20.03.2009, the Council of Government declared the Casa Pintada de Mula as an Asset of Cultural Interest (BIC) with the category of monument. It is located in San Francisco de Mula street, a favorite place for the nobility of the municipality to build their residence.
The structure of the building repeats the baroque palace model common in the Region of Murcia and consists of a first floor with windows closed by railings, second floor with balconies and a skylight tower with windows to the four cardinal points.
The decoration of the facade is profane, without religious references, except for some angels in different positions in the area of the coats of arms that symbolize the divine protection of the lineage.
The first floor has a baroque marble doorway and a mural with sgraffito decoration in which there is a single scene representing the hunting of a deer in the forest. This theme symbolizes the virtues of falconry for the nobleman, widely used in paintings, engravings and ceramics of the time.
The municipality of Mula already has seven monuments and three sets of rock art declared of Cultural Interest, in addition to the archaeological area of the Cerro de la Almagra, the protected environment of the Castle of Alcalá and the historical complex of the municipality.